top of page

Loup y es-tu ?

Childhood is a time of naivety when fairy tales and legends intertwine with imagination and poetry. Their fantastic illustrations have made a major contribution to my imagination. Childhood is also haunted by the misunderstandings and anxieties of an adult world that is often perceived as obscure and threatening.

Composing my work in a succession of diptychs is a way of presenting this intertwining. Fear and poetry become entwined in the viewer's gaze, leaving him free to recompose the inner image of his own childhood. In this way, they can move from one space to another, free to reconstruct their own narrative - if need be or for pleasure - and rediscover their perception of the world, and reflect on the world they are showing.

In the images, the child is at once a spectator, doubtful, worried, lost and curious. She loses herself in a fantastic natural setting, sometimes threatening animal-like, sometimes misty. The graphic plant scenery is dry, but the wet element is tangible. This atmosphere reinforces the anguishing and enigmatic character of the adult world. But it also reminds us of our capacity to transform it to make it more acceptable, in the same way that a child's mind resorts to magic to soothe its anxieties.

Exhibited at Saint Denis de la Réunion in 2014 - Curator: Patrick Singaïny - Book published by Editions Azalées - Article in Témoignages 

bottom of page

top of page

Loup y es-tu ?

L’enfance est ce moment de naïveté où s’entremêlent féérie, imagination et poésie nourries par les contes et légendes. Leurs illustrations fantastiques ont largement contribué à mon imaginaire. L’enfance est également hantée par les incompréhensions et inquiétudes d’un monde adulte perçu souvent comme obscur et menaçant.

Composer mon regard en une succession de diptyques est une façon de présenter cet entrelacement. Peur et poésie s’enchâssent dans le regard du spectateur, lui laissant le champ libre pour recomposer l’image intérieure de sa propre enfance. Ainsi peut-il passer d’un espace à l’autre, libre à lui de refonder –au besoin ou pour le plaisir - son propre récit et de retrouver cette perception du monde, et de réfléchir à celui qu’il donne à voir.

Dans les images l’enfant est à la fois spectatrice, dubitative, inquiète, perdue et curieuse. Elle se perd dans un décor naturel fantastique, tantôt d’apparence animale menaçante ou tantôt brumeuse. Le décor végétal d’un graphisme appuyé est asséché, mais l’élément humide est tangible. Cette ambiance renforce le caractère angoissant et énigmatique du monde adulte. Mais elle rappelle aussi la capacité de notre regard à le transformer pour le rendre plus acceptable comme le ferait la pensée de l’enfant qui recourt à la magie pour apaiser ses angoisses.

Exposé à Saint Denis de la Réunion en 2014 - Curateur : Patrick Singaïny - Livre paru aux Editions Azalées - Article dans Témoignages 

bottom of page