Latent Stories

A few years ago, my art teacher handed me a box and said, “Your medium is photography. One day you'll do something about it."

In the box, 241 negatives, probably studio portraits, of anonymous people, dating, according to their hairstyle, their clothes, their pose, from the 1930s to the 70s. It had been left in his office, without further information, while she was teaching in a Parisian school in the 90s.

Who gave him these images? Who was this studio photographer? And who are all these anonymous people? Why had he asked for this photographic portrait? What was their life, their secrets?

The discovery of all these faces was moving, as well as the questions that jostled about them. They sat there, on a shelf, and in my mind for a few more years. Now that I open the box, what are they telling me?

I also want through this work to question the limits of photography, its production process, its reproducibility, its two-dimensionality, its inability to say what is, despite the historical role of witness that history has assigned to it since its invention. . In particular “identity” photography. What do these aestheticized photographic portraits of the people represented tell us?  What is the part of truth and the part of ourselves that embroider fragments of history around each image?

My plastic approach will be based on experiments on the silver print process to explore its support, the effects of chemistry, volume and mix techniques from other mediums.

EXP-PROJECT

This project is part of the EXPERIMENTAL PROJECTS MENTORSHIP 2022-2023 course offered by Agora School of Experimentation founded by the creators of the EXPERIMENTAL PHOTO FESTIVAL in Barcelona, and will be punctuated by a collective exhibition at the festival in July 2023.

Histoire.s latentes

Il y a quelques années, ma professeure d’arts plastiques m’a remise une boite et m’a dit : « ton médium est la photographie. Un jour, tu en feras quelque chose ».

Dans la boite, 241 négatifs, portraits vraisemblablement de studio, d’anonymes, datant, d’après leur coiffure, leurs vêtements, leur pose, des années 1930 à 70. Elle avait été déposée dans son bureau, sans plus d’informations, alors qu’elle enseignait dans un établissement scolaire parisien dans les années 90.

Qui lui a remis ces images ? Qui était ce photographe de studio ? Et qui sont tous ces anonymes ? Pour quelle raison avaient-ils demandé ce portrait photographique ? Quelle était leur vie, leurs secrets ?

La découverte de tous ces visages fut émouvante, ainsi que les questions qui se bousculaient à leur sujet. Ils ont demeuré là, sur une étagère, et dans mon esprit, encore quelques années. Maintenant que j'ouvre la boîte, que viennent-il me raconter ?

Je veux également par ce travail questionner les limites de la photographie, son process de production, sa reproductibilité, sa bi-dimensionnalité, son incapacité à dire ce qui est, malgré le rôle historique de témoin que l’histoire lui a assignée depuis son invention. En particulier la photographie « d’identité ». Que nous disent ces portraits photographiques esthétisés des personnes représentées ?  Quelle est la part de vérité et la part de nous-mêmes qui brodent autour de chaque image des fragments d’histoire ?

Ma démarche plastique s'appuie sur des expérimentations sur le processus argentique pour explorer son support, les effets de la chimie, le volume et mixer des techniques issues d'autres médiums.

EXP-PROJECT

Ce projet s'inscrit dans le cadre du cours EXPERIMENTAL PROJECTS MENTORSHIP 2022-2023 proposé par Agora School of Experimentation fondée par les créateurs de l'EXPERIMENTAL PHOTO FESTIVAL de Barcelone, et sera ponctué par une exposition collective au festival en juillet 2023.